Balance

This week has been one of those “BLAH” weeks. I only made it to CrossFit 2 times and ran once. J’s school activities had me on a tailspin this week!! His schedule IS my schedule!!! Here lies the problem, for me at least…….I go into this psycho mode, this thought process of feeling guilty and blaming myself for only making it to the gym a few times in a week. Or blame myself for only running a certain amount of days or miles. Why do I do this to myself??? Why do ANY of us do this????. I wish I had that one simple answer, but here’s what I think……

I think it’s because I’m a creature of habit. Working out is my stress relief and I HONESTLY look forward to it! I love the feeling of busting my ass in a WOD or having a great run. When I don’t get to have any of those feelings, I’m not a happy camper !!! But, today, I’m in full blown mental warfare because I won’t go today (SN: I have to look for a new car…NOT happy!!!) or Saturday. I’m already beating myself up, as I’m writing this, that I won’t make it over the next two days.

I think because I am in such a routine, I tend to feel OFF balance when my it is changed. I sit down with my schedule at the beginning of each week and try to see where I am/ what has to be done. Working full time and being a parent really throws you OFF balance. I’m trying to maintain my sanity by balancing everything! Sometimes…it just doesn’t work like I planned in my head. But what I really need to work on is my response to my “imbalance”. Is it REALLY necessary to get that upset when you don’t make your workout? Why can’t I just view it as a necessary day off and go with it??? Is the world going to cave in because I didn’t get to run???

I am always under construction; constantly working on ways to improve myself mentally AND physically. I am understanding in life that there is a message in everything, and I guess my message today is about BALANCE. Balance is something we probably all need to learn,understand, and maintain.

Balance:
—noun

1. a state of equilibrium or equipoise; equal distribution of weight, amount, etc.
2. something used to produce equilibrium; counterpoise.
3. mental steadiness or emotional stability; habit of calm behavior, judgement

Learn to balance, girl!!!

©2014 Angie

Leave a Reply

