Points To Ponder (PTP): Mac Arthur Park

Totally random post…no exercise, no food, no favorites. This is probably where I display my smart ass-ness here on 3M (Miles, Mom, and Mishaps, in case you forgot). Sometimes I see things or hear things and feel the need to say something. So…why not on the blog??

I’m in the car ( by myself..which NEVER happens…and probably where this post was born) and on the radio in hear ” Mac Arthur Park” by Donna Summer. I was a young child in the 70s (born on ’72) but by the age of 8, I LOVED her!!! But you really don’t understand the lyrics of songs you like at 8 like you do at 41. Here is a piece of the lyrics…..

MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark
All the sweet, green icing flowing down
Someone left the cake out in the rain
I don’t think that I can take it
’cause it took so long to bake it
And I’ll never have that recipe again
Oh, nooooo

Ok…I’ll retract that statement! I really don’t know WHAT the eff she’s talking about!

Here are my Points to Ponder (PTP):

1. Why is the park melting???
This, I’m sure, is symbolic for something I don’t understand NOW and sure as hell didn’t understand THEN!!! Wish I could get some kind of explanation….

2. Why is the cake in the rain?
In God’s name, how could ANYONE leave something as scrumptious as CAKE in the rain??? What’s wrong with people!!!????

3. Why did it take so long to bake?
She couldn’t take “it” (the cake being in the rain) because the cake took so long to make! Well, damn…I’d be pissed too if someone left the cake I made out in the rain for it to get RUINED!!!
And why did it take so long to make??? Slow stove? Did she eff up the recipe and had to start over again? Maybe she forgot to make a list and got all wrong items…

4. Where did the recipe go?
She claims she can’t make it again because she’ll never the recipe. Where did it go? Was it part of the eff up as to why it took so long to make and bake (as above). Did she do it all by memory and now she’s forgotten because the original got left out and RUINED??

Again….I am probably missing the big picture of this song…the subliminal messages and all that crap. But these are things I think of when I’m by myself. #dangerous

One thought on “Points To Ponder (PTP): Mac Arthur Park

  1. Rainy Writer says:

    Heh heh … I can almost see your brain going into some bizarre place thinking up those questions of life … errrr… questions of song philosophy. 🙂

    I myself was sort of an anit-disco era guy … so I have noooooo idea what the heck she was singing about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

