Why, oh WHY Lord, did you invent…..

…THE SCALE??? It’s just a cruel joke to most of us…most of is women that is! I can’t believe I fell into the trap of WEIGHING myself this morning. I always counsel my patients NOT to be a victim of the scale and to NOT get discouraged. “Teacher…teach thy SELF!!. I wanted to see a “number” change since I’ve been actively keeping track of my food. Epic FAIL NO GO!!

Let’s chat about what I’ve been doing….

1. I have been tracking what I have been eating the past 2 weeks. I’ve been using the app myfitnesspal to track my eating. I am more accountable when I commit to writing it down then keeping it in “my head”. I think I’m doing well until I actually write it down.

20140224-120002.jpg
This app allows you to write down items, whether in their food bank already….

20140224-120150.jpg
Or whether you scan it in (see the bar code picture in the lower right corner) and then add it to your list.

You can add breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. Maybe I haven’t been honest enough…! You know thoae little snacks that you think are negligible?? They start to add up….
Maybe one thing I’m doing wrong….

20140224-120347.jpg
You can also add your exercise – either strength training or cardiovascular work.
Water..water…water!! I do like keeping track of that!

The only thing I don’t like is that I don’t have a fitness “tracker” to calculate burning calories in a WOD. So unless I have performed in a true cardiovascular way, I really can’t track my exercise for the day. Hmmm…maybe I need to invest in one of those Nike + Fuelbands to track that stuff!! Hmmmm….maybe someone at Nike will see this post and send me one to try out!!!!

2. Exercise

As you may know, I’ve been doing CrossFit usually 3-4 times per week. I used to run ALOT more. But keeping track has allowed me to see that I’m not doing near as much cardio as I did before. When I started CF about 4 years ago, I was a “runner”…running 2-3 miles 4-5 days per week and usually a 5k race on the weekends. I got the bug for CF and my running really suffered. I’m on this uphill climb (no pun intended….wait…yes it is!! If I’d run my ass uphill…I wouldn’t BE in this predicament!!!) trying to get back to my center..which is running.

I have ALWAYS responded to this kind of self assessments. When I see that I’m not doing what I have set out to do…it make me work HARDER! Everyone always needs a kick in the pants sometimes. It’s not the scale, but the fact that I am not doing what I thought I was!!

#getmovingSISTER
#noexcuses

My plan?? Incorporate my daily runs back…even if I can only get a mile in…DO IT!. 42 is not gonna come and me not be in the BEST shape possible for me!

Questions
Do you keep track of your daily intake and exercise??
How do you keep yourself “honest”??

2 thoughts on “Why, oh WHY Lord, did you invent…..

  1. Rainy Writer says:

    I just started using Strava to track my runs and bike rides … I used to track my food, but I eat fairly healthy, so I’m not too concerned about it. (Wifey on the other hand loses track of her eating if she does not use a tracker. I do the cooking, but recently I have not made portion appropriate sizes … bad me … bad…. bad.)

    And … I’ll mention the thing you’ve likely heard a billion times over … that thing about muscle mass and body fat reduction … could that be going on? (I suspect because you do the CF thing you got all the info on that and ruled that out already?)

    And … (kicks your stoopid scale for you.)

    Like

    • amal7072 says:

      Yep….I definitely have more muscle mass from CF. I will admit that my diet has always been a weak point!! I LOVE food!! I have just learned over time I can’t love it as much as I’d like to!!! Hubby does all the cooking in my house (score for both me and your wife!!!).
      I know that my cardio is no where near what it was before I started CF. I just have to find balance…NOT the scale!!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

