…and in the morning, there will be DONKEYS!!!!

20140310-091705.jpg

That was my weekend sign! I started off my 5k season with a run sponsored by my gym. This was first for me in a few ways…..

1. This park in Lakeland, FL is in the midst of a booming city. It is a little wilderness with beautiful trees, woods…and of course BUGS! But besides the bugs, it is also primarily used for Cross Country races, both the 3k and 5k distances. I have NEVER run a XC course….and let’s just say I NEVER will again!! Last week, I think, I wrote a post about my shin-y shin shins. Well…..they are WORSE! They are so sore and tender to touch. I ran yesterday and stopped a little bit after 2 miles, because I couldn’t push through. I.WAS.PISSED!!!!

20140310-100424.jpg
The Rock Tape didn’t stand a chance in the wilderness!!!! I spent the first mile trying to NOT fall….into the soft sand, in the wet (from the morning dew) grass, and in nature’s little holes. It felt like an obstacle course. I didn’t know this going into the race, but then, HAD I known, I might not have done it.

2. This was a race to benefit an Equine Rescue Center. I was very happy to participate….and then I saw they had animals at the event! Yay!!! One problem….HIGHLY allergic to horse dander! Itchy eyes, runny nose , bronchospasms…the works! But…there weren’t any horses,but there was a DONKEY! I’ve never seen one up close and personal other than a zoo or the movie “Shrek”. So…I took a picture

20140310-104626.jpg
Me and my HAIRY ASS. Ain’t we cute???

Then…

20140310-104741.jpg
Then there’s the TWO asses and the donkey!!!

Pretty neat, huh? I chalked this off to a learning experience..just like when I did that mud run the “Warrior Dash”. I found out afterwards, albeit it fun, that I really don’t NEED to do another race like that again. That definitely gets crossed off the bucket list!!!

Any race or event that you’ve done that you WOULDN’T do again???

©2014 Angie

2 thoughts on “…and in the morning, there will be DONKEYS!!!!

  1. RainyWriter says:

    Hahahaha … I loved those captions!

    As for events we’ve done and will likely not do again … the 5K Worst Day of the Year Run. Not because it was a “worst day” … more because the course was narrow … and with a bazillion people running …. it was oft times a long slow run following a stroller or two people side by side walking. It was great fun … but did the run, got the shirt … next race! 🙂

    Hope your shins are feeling better. (I used to have sore shins a lot. After a lot of exercises that built up some of my shin muscles … and yeah, there’s not a lot there to build up … its a bit better. I have also tried to take calcium supplements …that seems to help too.)

    Like

    • amal7072 says:

      Thanks!!! I’m willing to try ANYTHING at this point!!! I’m going to try calcium!! You’ve mentioned it and I’ve read other bloggers doing it as well!
      Oh that and maybe….REST! But that’s a foreign concept to me!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

