Blueberries….I got your BLUEBERRIES…!

Today, the family and I went to the Tampa Bay Blueberry Festival. I found a Living Social deal – admission for 2, free parking (normally $5), and 4lbs of U-pick blueberries. ABSOLUTELY jumped on this deal!!

20140427-200252.jpgIt is located at Keel and Curley Winery in Plant City, FL (about 30-ish minutes outside of Tampa and less than 15 minutes from me in Valrico).

20140427-200810.jpg I’ve been DYING to pick blueberries because I thought it would be a good experience for the boys. I’m the only one in my house that loves blueberries, so I’m IN!!

The festival was cute…it had plenty of vendors of all types, both independent and franchises – food,crafts, and jewelry….and DESSERTS.

20140427-204713.jpg

20140427-204741.jpg
Lots of booths with homemade foods like salsas, jams/preserves, spices, and olive oils. NICE!!

Wine tasting from the winery (grapes and blueberries) and craft beers were readily available for your tasting pleasure!

20140427-201110.jpgWe had the boys with us, so we didn’t get to partake in the tastings. Don’t get me wrong, we had a few beers, but not too many! By the way, you couldn’t have any of the nectar of the GODS until you had one of these…

20140427-201342.jpgJust in case you didn’t know or remember, I’m over 21. HELL….I’m over 31!!! If you really must know…I’m over 41!! #damnI’mOLD

Part of our Living Social deal was a free bottle of wine from the winery. We could select from 10-12 types of wine. After much thought (like 3 seconds), we selected a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon.

20140427-203133.jpg(You like my toes and laundry in the background?) Fingers crossed…hope it’s good. But then, can you really be upset at a free bottle of wine?!?!? 🍷
SN: Have you seen what a grape looks like on a vine? I hadn’t until today…..

20140427-211842.jpgNEAT!

The boys had a good time, despite the fact that it felt like 1000 degrees and a gazillion people were there.

20140427-203519.jpg

It was time for the other meaning of the day…U-pick blueberries!!! I was able to see for the first time where those lovely blueberries came from…

20140427-205330.jpg

20140427-205450.jpgIsn’t that neat??? So we are on our way, when we hit this sign…

20140427-205606.jpgUmmmm…WHAT?!?!?! What do you mean “No U-pick” today?? This is why I’m here, to pick some DERN (that’s right…DERN) blueberries!! Apparently that had a record number of 8000 people on Saturday, so it was closed for picking until next Saturday! BOO!! They all took my blueberries!!! #greedy

But wait….in my quest to teach my kids something other than an iPod/iPad, Kindle or anything electronic, we saw a blue sight amongst the unriped berries.

20140427-210016.jpgOur U-pick turned into A-pick , as in we picked A blueberry. How ’bout them apples???
Oh yeah….and I ATE that A-pick berry, too! I sure did!!!

All in all, the weekend was good because I was able to spend it with my family. We are all so busy during the week, it sure is nice to have a day just for us…with or without blueberries!

What did you do this weekend?
Anyone have any good blueberry recipes??

Leave a Reply

