Boom….

20140524-190006.jpg…and this my friends is how you start your Memorial Day weekend off! We are headed out of town (really just “up the street” to Orlando) for this weekend. I always plan to do SOMETHING workout related when away, but you never know. The Sandman might make me…FORCE me to sleep in! 😉

Hubby surprised us by taking us away this holiday weekend. I was secretly wanting to go away because…truth be told….one word…MURPH!!! This is an amazing WOD to participate in during the Memorial Day weekend. Lt. Michael Murphy was a Navy Seal that was killed in action in Afghanistan in 2005. Like many soldier who have died in action, CrossFit helps to honor them by naming a WOD for them.

“MURPH”
1 mile run
100 pull ups
200 push ups
300 squats
1 mile run

My time last year was 73:21. Not bad for Rx and I was in shape! I am just coming off the “injured list” and I knew I wouldn’t do well. Although this WOD, like the many named for soldiers, represents the hard work..the struggle….the intensity of these fine men. This year…I really don’t feel worthy!

Next year it is, Murph! I can’t honor you correctly by kicking a** in your WOD, but I will remind others to…THANK YOU for service!!

PS…if you don’t know the movie “Lone Survivor” is the story about Lt. Murphy and 3 other Navy Seals in Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

