Busy Mom = Running HIATUS

I took a little break from running last week. NOT because I wanted to, but because the kiddos had many activities that week and I couldn’t find time to get it in. I think that’s one of the rules of successful running is to remember to incorporate rest into your plan….I just don’t think they meant a whole WEEK!! 😉

Basketball season is in full swing which meant saying “GOODBYE” to my lovely Saturday morning runs. It means “HELLO” to Saturday afternoon runs! I really don’t like running in the afternoon. Why?

1. The day is already started and my laziness is already on full OVERDRIVE. There is always something that has to be done…laundry, cleaning, football, basketball….you name it.

2. Let’s face it…it’s FLORIDA! And it’s HOT! This time of year it’s a little cooler but it’s not like our friends up north!

3. It’s harder to “convince” myself to get it done in the afternoon. (Refer back to #1). This is why I dressed in my running gear at the boy’s games, so when we got home, off I went!!

But Julian and Aidan LOVE basketball and how can you say NO to these faces???

IMG_4893.JPG🏀Go Wizards and Celtics!!!🏀

I ran 3 miles yesterday. This is part of the prep for Saturday’s 10k. I wasn’t in love with my pace (I am about 1:30 minutes SLOWER than I am accustomed to) but the reality is that I don’t have the time to devote and dedicate to getting faster right now. That was HARD to write and put out in the universe. I don’t like to think that I don’t have the time, but the boys have needs and their needs are important. These are the sacrifices we make as parents. I am able to keep a fairly consistent pace, so I should be “ok” for the upcoming race.

IMG_4899.JPGMy MANTRA that I try to remember and live by.

This week I hope to have a few days for running. Nothing crazy because I don’t want to hurt myself before the 10k on Saturday. I can only get to the gym twice this week because of basketball and Scouts this week.

Bring it on, MONDAY….

What’s your exercise this week look like?

Leave a Reply

