You signed up for WHAT……??????

Not to rip off one of my favorite blogs but that’s exactly what I was thinking when I decided to sign up for another race. Not just any race…I slipped and bumped my head and signed up for a 15k!! WHAT????

Here’s the story….Gasparilla is a race in Tampa Bay that I look forward to every year.

2015/01/img_5248.jpg
I did race last year because of my shin injury, so not surprisingly, I’d sign up this year. Since I fancy myself a 10k’er now (yeah…right!), I wanted to sign up for another one. I’ve usually done the 5k, but I didn’t want to revisit the distance for a few reasons:

1. I want to keep pushing myself. And if I continue to “just do” 5ks, I’ll never be challenged to do anything else, but that distance. I’m not knocking times out the park, or anything. And I am/was quite comfy in 5k land, but my running shorts weren’t! You get it??? (In case you didn’t….I was in a stand still with the weight! ). So…I continue to challenge myself!

2. At minimum there are usually about 9 BAZILLION 9000 (or more) people that run the 5k in Gasparilla every year. This is NOT a race for people, like me, who want to improve SOME time. There are just too many people. It’s fun…and its a workout…but I think I’m looking for more.
Just an idea…LOOK at this! This is a good depiction of the what the 5k looks like…😁

2015/01/img_5249.jpg

This leads me to the registration page. I’m looking…I’m scrolling…I don’t see it. I see 5k, 8k, 15k, and Half Marathon. WTF happened to the 10k?? Where did it go?? Well, I missed a year and I FORGOT the race GODS replaced the 10k with an 8k. What’s a girl to do???. Well, I figured that doing the 8k would make me FEEL like I was going backwards. This in reality isn’t true because I only have ONE 10k under my belt…..

I guess I was feeling “all proud” of myself because I pulled the trigger…and signed up for the 15k. 😁
What I am I thinking?? I have no experience…I don’t think I have time to train…I don’t think I can DO IT!
That’s the doubtful part of my brain. The other part thinks about the experience…how GREAT it would be to have added a distance to my running resume….how I would be 4 miles from a HALF MARATHON!! It all makes me feel INVINCIBLE!

So…I WILL do the 15k. I WILL fit in some training (to the best of my ability and schedule). I WILL feel like I can do it!

Ever signed up for something that we were SCARED to do?

One thought on “You signed up for WHAT……??????

  1. Mom says:

    Yep! Most times when I agree to teach/interpret at church. But I’m always reminded of 2 Timothy 1:7 –

    “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

    FEAR is often False Evidence Appearing Real….. God knows that we will feel fear. But He wants us to let Him help, so that we won’t stop doing whatever it is He has called us to do.

    Run the race He’s set before you, Ang!
    Do it unto The Lord and you’re sure to
    be victorious! 🏆

    Like

Leave a Reply

