Miami Weekend

Last weekend, our basketball family made a trip to MIAMI to watch The University of Miami Hurricanes (my hubby’s FAVORITE team) take on The University of North Carolina Tar Heels. 

My kids are ALL ABOUT Marcus Paige from UNC, so you know who they were rooting for!

I got their “Carolina Blue” hats before we left home. Look how HAPPY they are!!! I was just happy they weren’t sporting UM apparel! (Sorry, Hun!!😉)

This is for Miguel and for my Mom, a UM Alum! (There…my good deed for today!!😉)

Since my older son is playing travel ball, it was good for him to see it in REAL time. To see how hard you have to work to get to the next level…..

I miss Miami, for one reason….well…actually TWO reasons-

1. I miss my friends that remained in the area! I don’t get home very often but I wish that I could catch up with them all!!!

2. I miss the FOOD! Being in a multicultural, big city, one can only imagine the variety of food!!!

We stayed on Brickell Avenue while in Miami…part of the downtown area. 

Do you remember this building from the opening credits for “Miami Vice”?? (Cue theme music…….). I’ve always loved this building…and couldn’t tell you what the HELL is in it…but I love looking at it!

Miguel found a cool restaurant for us to try next to our hotel called Batch Gastropub.  

What is a Gastropub,you ask? “A pub that specializes in serving high quality food” says Dictionary.com. I’ve seen it on Food Network like a GAZILLION times and have been anxious to try a place like this. That hubby of mine sure does listen to my nonsense because WHAT a surprise!! 

Batch specializes in using quality ingredients from Florida and around the world.

You see Cigar City? That’s right here in the Tampa Bay Area. 😃

The atmosphere was amazing, a place we loved and we could take our kiddos. 

I mean how could NOT love a restaurant that has THIS at a table! 

…….Or THIS! #helloGORGEOUS

Our food was EXCELLENT 



I had Quinoa risotto with peppers,onions,a little corn and asparagus. (First picture)

Miguel had a rib eye steak with grouper. It was actually the cheeks of the fish and apparently the best part of the fish. 

Aidan had the “Mac Attack” which is gnocchi with Gruyere cheese. You can add any toppings! He choose……BACON!!! (Second picture)

Julian had a burger that could probably feed a Third World country! (Last picture) 

Then there was….DESSERT!!!

Mudpie (left), Cast iron cookie with ice cream (right), and Red Velvet brownie with cream cheese frosting (front).

LORD, have mercy because EVERYTHING was good! If you are in Miami, make it a point to go to this restaurant!

Upon my arrival at home, I immediately Googled “Gastropub in Tampa”. I didn’t have much luck! So I’ll will keep searching until I can eat like this again!

It was a great weekend…..

4 thoughts on “Miami Weekend

Leave a Reply

