What do MY papers say????

Have you ever thought about yourself and WHY you gravitate towards certain races?  Swim Bike Mom has a GREAT post on the different breeds of Triathletes. Meredith, of SBM, is a great resource for REAL women….works full time (she’s an Attorney), a wife (to the “Expert”), and a mom of two…that want to be triathletes! I stubbled on to her blog when I was searching for information on training for a triathlon, after a hiatus from injury .  I find comfort in women that are like me and trying to balance it all! #greedyMOM #sorryNOTsorry.  She made/makes me feel like I can do it! She has MANY 70.3 and 140.6 under her belt and she’s a regular gal, like me. I continue to find her and all SBM Ambassadors to be my inspriation! Thanks Meredith!!!!

When I decided to try a triathlon in 2010, I figured the Sprint distance was a great place to start.

 Just a reminder:

  • Sprint – ~750 m swim, ~10-12 mile bike, and 3.1mile run
  • Olympic – 1.5k swim, 25 mile bike, and 6.2 mile run
  • Ironman (IM;commonly referred as 140.6, as in total of miles) – 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, and a marathon run (ie 26.2 miles)
  • Half Ironman (Half;commonly referred as 70.3) – cut the IM in half!

I’ve been hooked since the first time!! Life and injury got in my way because I wasn’t able to compete until 2012.  Last year I set the goal for 3 tris but only managed 2! This year…I’m getting to 3!!!  But I’m sticking to SPRINTS, BABY!!!   I am completely and utterly AMAZED at anyone that can do more distance.  But I feel the Sprint distance is what SPEAKS to me.   I can’t imagine doing any other distance. (Of course I DID say that about my running and never doing more than a 5k!😁).  Honestly, I don’t have/make the time to do more than a Sprint. And I’m okay with that!!  After reading her post, my “breed” of triathlete, now I know WHY it speaks to me!!!😉. Check out where you fit and what your distance says about you. 🏊🚴🏃

Question

Any of these describe you?

What would make you increase your distance in a race? 

6 thoughts on “What do MY papers say????

  1. cupcakesandmiles says:

    That’s so cool! Tri-breeds! 🙂 If I ever decide to train for a triathlon, I’d be doing a sprint right there with you. My uncle and his girlfriend have done a few ironmans. Yikes! I find triathletes so inspirational though. Do you do all your races locally?

    Like

  2. The Tri Road says:

    I do mainly shorter club distances as I usually have to travel at least 4 hours to get to a sprint distance race (or longer). I have done 2 sprint distances and I like them. I recently did an olympic distance which was a one-off goal for me. I had to put everything else in my life on hold to fit the training schedule in. I’ll be going back to sprint and shorter races again. I have no desire (or time) to do the longer ones. About to head over and check out that link… thanks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mom, Miles, and Mishaps says:

      I hear you!! I only have time to do the shorter distances and I am quite happy with that! I’m not quite sure that I can manage the Olympic distance and I’m ok with that!!!
      I know you won’t be disappointed with SBM site. She’s such a inspiration!
      Thanks for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

