Summer Running 2k15

You KNOW you sang it…..just like you did last with last year’s post!!😉 Yesterday started off the Watermelon 5k Series in Lakeland (FL).  I do the race series every summer to keep me running over the summer and to check in terms of my “training”. You know…when you THINK you are doing good and then you race and see that your AREN’T doing enough? 😉 #checkYOURSELF

Prior to most races, I go to Fitniche and buy myself something new.  I don’t have to convince myself it’s a BAD thing to buy prior to a race!! This time, I decided on..

I’ve always wanted to try these socks.  Up to now, cheap Walmart socks have been my go to brand.  I felt like a REAL runner having purchased and using these babies!  They were lightweight and they didn’t feel as tight on my feet as my current ones.  

I usually use a baseball cap to race in, but I’ve been wanting to try.. 

a visor.  They always looks so good others, so why not.  Again…felt like a real runner even MORE.  

Leaving my house early in the morning to get to Lakeland (it’s about a 30 minute drive), I was excited! This event draws in a lot of local and out of town runners.  I think this one had OVER 1000 folks! Not bad for a small town that I can’t wait to move to….SOME DAY! 

 Lake Hollingsworth in the WEE morning, about 30 minutes prior to race time….

BEAUTIFUL!!!

It was a nice, flat course wrong the lake.  I covinced a few friends to join me../ 

Me, Sam (front); Donald(Leslie’s son), Leslie (back)

Our post race smiles….

I wasn’t really happy with my time, but like I said, I like to race to show myself WHAT I need to change in my daily trading or exercise routine.  

  Sorry for the language (if you are easily offended….because I NOT!!😉). But you ALL know….struggle is REAL!!!
How was your Saturday?

One thought on “Summer Running 2k15

  1. cupcakesandmiles says:

    Hah!!! That Funny was funny!!! 🙂

    Good job on your race, even if your time wasn’t what you wanted. You’ll get ’em next time. I too like to treat myself before a race…and before a new training cycle. 😉 I have a pair of Balega socks and don’t care for them too much. My favs are Smartwool PhD.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

