End of the Series…

Yesterday was the last in the Watermelon Series in Lakeland.  It’s a 5k series over the summer that helps to keep you motivated to run.  This summer has been INCREDIBLY hot and it was HARD to stay motivated this year.  This year, I missed the middle two races – I was out of town for one and I had a triathlon for the other (which by the way was CANCELLED at the last minute!), so I was really looking forward to this race.  

It felt incredibly good to run! I just ran for the sheer enjoyment of it.  I’ve been very frustrated lately with myself- my body (as a result of my diet), my running, and my lack of gym/CrossFit time.  I promised myself that I wasn’t going to let all of these self doubting thoughts get me down and make me loose site of my goals.  I just want to be a successful RECREATIONAL athlete.  Success measured by MY goals and mine alone.  So…

  • If I don’t PR for my race, just celebrate the run and be PROUD that you finished!
  • Baby steps towards my goal! Remember that “Rome wasn’t built in a DAY”
  • When in doubt…just keep going!!

  Donald (Leslie’s son), Leslie, and Me! We look so happy, don’t we??? 😉. I am extremely proud of Leslie because I coaxed her into this series and even though I missed two of them, she continued on!  My running buddy is STRONG and I hope she knows how AWESOME I think she is!!❤️

Until next year….. 

 

    One thought on “End of the Series…

    Leave a Reply

    