Charleston Day 3

Just when you think you couldn’t get any MORE of my South Carolina adventures…I’ve got more!!! 

We got a late start because why not sleep in when you are on vacation?? What a novel idea??? We ate breakfast at Toast in downtown Charleston.  

 Which happens to have celebrated an anniversary last year!  It was a quick eat because we were schedule for a tour about an hour after we got there. (Sorry no photos of scrumptious breakfast!)

Part of the reason for coming to Charleston was to get some more of the Civil War history that I enjoy! (Remember North and South??).  This is where the Civil War started and I was anxious to see any remnants of this part in our history.  We decided on  Magnolia Plantation and Gardens which did not disappoint!!   

 We are on our way…..!

  
 I took many pictures, but with my…camera…and not my phone!! I’ll post them later.  There is a zoo which houses many different animals 

 ME…after this trip!!

The gardens were made specifically for Rev. Drayton’s wife so she would LOVE being in SC versus the city where she was from.  What a beautiful gift! There are many different flowers blooming here during the year, but it was first known for it’s Camillas. Over the years, the Romantic Garden (as it is called) has plants (both flowering and trees) from all over the world.  The bamboo garden is one of a kind… 

 There are remnants of the rice fields, for which the family made most of its income.. 

 …and the friendly Alligator appears to be protecting it!! #goGATORS

We took a Nature train ride through the plantation.  We saw all kinds of wildlife from alligators to blue herons and ducks to turtles.  We even saw an eagle..perching…and waiting to pounce for his next meal!

This plantation is still in the same family from when it was built in 1676! As with many of these plantation tours, they don’t allow any photography of the house. Boo!!!!  So, it shall be forever fresh in my mind but I can’t share it with you! 

After a great day of history…it was a quick change and then off to dinner. We had the pleasure of dining at Halls Chophouse.  Never and I mean NEVER have I been to a resturant so elegant with the feeling of being home! We were greeted by the host and hostess and ass they were showing us upstairs to our table, the owner comes out to say “hello” and welcome us to the restaurant. He gave us a “high five” for 17 years of marriage. We sat down and immediately greeted by our wait staff and right after two glass of champagne brought by the owner and thanking us for celebrating our day with them! #imsofancy. Let’s take a trip down FOOD lane, shall we??

Appetizers:

 Oysters Rockefeller was for hubs and the BEST Onion soup I’ve ever had! French onion soup with a mound of string fried onions on top of the cheese! I’ve died and gone to heaven!! I thought I snapped a pic but my greedy a** forgot to snap one!!

Entrees: 

 Hubs had the Dry Aged Ribeye (12oz) and for me…? 

 I finally was able to try grassed beef! I had the 8oz filet and it was everything I was expecting.  Grassed need has a little bit more of an “earthy” taste to it,but not in a bad way.  If you’ve had venison or buffalo, you know that is has “that” taste, as well.    I happen to like both of those meats, so it wasn’t a bad thing for me.  The sides are family style so we chose the Parmesean Creamed Corn.  SN: And NOT that crappy stuff that comes out of the can! This the REAL deal creamed corn!! We also selected the lobster Mac and Cheese and Broccolini.  Everything was lovely!!  

Believe it or not…there was room for dessert…  

  Vanilla Bean Creme Brûlée 

And…. 

 Dark Chocolate “Pate”. Pate, in that they make it just like a pate (except with dark chocolate) and then slice it thin (like Pate).  OMG!!!

When it came time to pay, we found out that our desserts had been comped by the owner! How sweet is that?!?!?  We left…bellies FULL, and our hearts warmed over by the care that we recorded in the restaurant.  Made us feel like family as we are exiting and the owner gives me a hug to say “Thanks!” and my husband a great handshake.  

Thank you, Halls Chophouse for making our dinner AND anniversary such a wonderful memory.  

**Disclaimer: The opinions of this post are all my own.  I have not been compensated in any way for my opinions.  

One thought on “Charleston Day 3

Leave a Reply

