1010

Since Fall is here in the Sunshine State, it is easier (for me) to be successful running in the morning. It was a BEAUTIFUL 67 degrees this morning!!! My friend, Leslie and I decided today was the day to get back at it! Plus…we always try to do either a WOD or run for her birthday (Nov. 8th).  We ran Summerlin Academy 5k.  It was held to benefit the veterans of Polk County (FL).  It was a small race because unfortunately there was another race going at the same time!! And when I say small, I mean like, 12 people! I’m sure they were expecting a better turn out, but it was a great reason to run, so….let’s do it!!! 

Source: Google

Pretty, isn’t it?? It’s a very nice park in Bartow (FL). It was a first for me! Little tidbit– I found out about a year ago that this park was named after one of my good friends, Leandra’s Great Grandmother. I know someone who is related to someone famous! 

I ran a very good race today…at least for me since I have really just been back to the gym and running consistently for about 2 weeks.  I’m excited to be back! The student cadets helped us manuever our way from the school, to and through the park, and back.  I was a little nervous because I just knew I was going to get lost and maybe end up back home if I didn’t pay attention! 

I got a side stitch in mile 2 which caused me to make my only walk of the race. It was a brief walk but I’m determined to getting my breathing and pace synced, so I wont do that again!  PS- I’m NOT knocking on those that do walk nor do I think it’s a bad thing! I just don’t walk in my races and for me…don’t want to make it a habit. Just my opinion for what I want for ME. 

Average pace: 10:06
Not bad for the first race of the season for me.  I have my eyes on the prize for better numbers, so hopefully I won’t disappoint! 

Oh yeah…First in AG and second for Leslie! Nevermind that we made up the AG..😂😂 #winning

It was such a good race to start back! Can’t wait until the next one!

How’s your Saturday been?? Any races you want to share??

Thanks for reading! ❤️


One thought on “1010

Leave a Reply

