Something New

I am all about trying some new stuff, so this weekend I tried YOGA! A local Lakeland yoga studio, The Balance Culture held a free yoga session outside at Florida Southern College.  Saturday was a beautiful day here in the Sunshine State! I love when the weather changes!

Nothing but CLEAR skies, today!!!


Some of Lake Hollingsworth


Our AWESOME instructor!


The Balance Culture is a ladies studies that offers yoga, Pilates, Barre and HIIT classes!  I’ve never been in the studio but I have wanted to try yoga with them!  They do these free yoga sessions frequently, so I jumped at the chance!!  There were many ladies out there and I loved that it was a mix of ladies: different ages, some or no experience,  even a few gents showed up! 

I dragged two of my friends with me:

Leslie (L); Me; Leandra (R)

We all needed this morning out! #busyMOMS

I’m not going to lie, but I was apprehensive about taking this class.  Mobility (and therefore flexibility) are not my strong point. I don’t dedicate enough time, before or after activity! #myfault. I’ve done yoga tape before when I did P90x about 6 years ago. But…it was 90 minutes and I was bored out of mind! So much so, on those days that yoga showed up on the schedule, I skipped it! Yoga and I didn’t start off well….but I was willing to try again!

The class was about an hour and I learned some new poses and reconnected with some old ones! 

What movements/poses I knew before:

  • Downward Dog
  • Warrior Pose
  • Tree Pose
  • Upward Dog

What movements/poses I never knew:

  • Warrior Pose (there’s 3)
  • Chair Pose
  • Happy Baby Pose (that’s an interesting one!!)
  • Cow face Pose
  • Eagle Pose
  • Fire Log pose

There are so many more that I learned that can’t remember! I found an online source, called Yoga Journal, to help with the poses and keep my mind fresh for the next time. 

Some shots from yesterday…

It really was fun and was so happy that my friends were able to join in! I really learned how much I need to work on mobility and how it can benefit me during this health/fitness journey.  I can’t wait to get to the studio to do it again! Right now, I’m just waiting for DOMS to set in!! 😂

What kind of fun did YOU have this weekend??

Happy Sunday and thanks for reading!❤️

Leave a Reply

